TrailDeals
Back to home

Tents and shelters: six listings compared on published specifications

Six tents and shelters listings, listed between $10.62 and $139.99, compared on the figures each retailer actually publishes: price, rating and rating count. Nothing here was tested first-hand, and the top pick is the listing that states the most specifications.

Advertising disclosure. This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, TrailDeals may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

As an Amazon Associate, TrailDeals earns from qualifying purchases. TrailDeals also participates in the AliExpress affiliate programme.

Commission never decides which products appear here, and no placement on this page is paid for. Selection is described in full under How these picks were selected. See our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.

TD
Compiled by the TrailDeals editorial team
Published 5 min read
6 Products listed
4 Official sources cited
5 Questions answered
0 Sponsored placements
star Editor's Top Pick
CROWN SHADES 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with One Push Setup, Gird White | Patented CenterLok, Easy Outdoor Sun S Most specs published

CROWN SHADES 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with One Push Setup, Gird White | Patented CenterLok, Easy Outdoor Sun S

Named top pick for one stated reason: of the six products on this page, its listing publishes the most specification figures in writing. That is a transparency judgement about the listing, not a quality judgement about the product.

All figures above are manufacturer-stated, reproduced from the retailer listing without modification. Any figure the listing does not state is recorded as not stated in this listing.

Link below opens the product page on this site, which then links out to the retailer. That outbound link is an affiliate link.

See Details for the CROWN SHADES 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with One Push Setup, Gird White | Patented CenterLok, Easy Outdoor Sun S, on this site

What the listings actually tell you about tents and shelters

Choosing tents and shelters comes down to a single question: does the listing publish enough to judge the product before it arrives? This page takes six listings from the TrailDeals tents and shelters shelf and compares only what each retailer states in writing. Where a figure is missing, that absence is recorded rather than filled in.

Four points decide most shelter kit purchases, and each is drawn from published guidance rather than from opinion:

  • Shelter is an emergency item before it is a comfort item. The Park Service names emergency shelter — tarp, bivy or space blanket — among the ten essentials for any trip.
  • Where you may pitch is decided by the park, not the product. The Park Service sets out where camping is permitted and what has to be prepared before arriving.
  • Storms are a shelter decision with a known answer. The National Weather Service states that a tent is not lightning shelter and that people are struck in every season.
  • Sun exposure continues at camp. EPA advises covering clothing, a wide-brimmed hat and SPF 15 or higher from UV index 3, which is what shade structures are bought to reduce.

None of those points can be settled by a product photograph, which is why the comparison below stays with stated figures.

How the six listings compare

Of the six listings on this page, six publish a current price, five publish a previous price, and six publish a product rating. That spread is the comparison: a listing that states more can be checked more.

On that count, CROWN SHADES 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with One Push Setup, Gird White | Patented CenterLok, Easy Outdoor Sun S publishes the most — 5 of the five figures tracked here. That is a transparency judgement about the listing and not a quality judgement about the product, and it is the only reason it is named top pick.

The table reproduces every figure exactly as the retailer published it. Blank cells are marked rather than estimated, and prices change without notice, so the retailer page remains the authority at the time of purchase.

Manufacturer-stated figures for the six products on this page, reproduced from the retailer listings.
Product Retailer Listed price Was Rating Ratings
CROWN SHADES 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with One Push Setup, Gird White | Patented CenterLok, Easy Outdoor Sun S (top pick) Amazon $139.99 $149.99 4.6 / 5 11,255
Wakeman Pop Up Changing Tent, 3.3 x 3.3 x 6.2ft, Camping Shower Tent for Portable Toilet Stall or Dressing Roo Amazon $39.95 Not stated in this listing 4.3 / 5 8,157
Yaheetech 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with Vent, Easy Set Up Tent, Instant Sun Shelter Canopy with Wheeled Bag, 4 Amazon $72.99 $85.99 4.3 / 5 1,781
Ultra light canvas garden canopy, sunshade, camping hammock, courtyard sunshade, used for outdoor activities AliExpress $31.75 $63.50 4.9 / 5 3,394
Emergency Lighting Solar Camping Light Portable Outdoor Tent Work SMD Rechargeable LED Hanging Lamp with Digit AliExpress $10.62 $22.13 4.9 / 5 4,004
20000mAh Outdoor Camping Fan 6 in 1 Portable Rechargeable Wireless Tent Ceiling Fan with LED Light Camping Air AliExpress $46.58 $98.05 4.8 / 5 5,204

All figures are manufacturer-stated and reproduced from the retailer listing without modification. Prices change without notice; the retailer page is the authority at the time of purchase.

Which listing suits which camper

There is no single right answer for every trip. Before ordering, campers generally need to settle four things:

  • Whether the published capacity matches how many will actually sleep in it.
  • Whether a waterproof rating and pole material are stated.
  • Whether the packed weight suits how far it is carried.
  • Whether pitching needs stakes that are not included.

Three of the six listings on this page are stocked on Amazon and three on AliExpress. The split is not a ranking — it reflects where each listing is sold, and both groups were assessed by the same measure.

The lowest listed price on the page belongs to Emergency Lighting Solar Camping Light Portable Outdoor Tent Work SMD Rechargeable LED Hanging Lamp with Digit at $10.62. A lower price is a fact about the listing, not evidence that it suits a particular animal.

The largest published rating count belongs to CROWN SHADES 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with One Push Setup, Gird White | Patented CenterLok, Easy Outdoor Sun S, with 11,255 ratings recorded on the listing. That figure reflects other buyers' experience with their own animals, and no assessment of it was carried out here.

How these picks were selected

Selection starts from the topic and only then looks at what is available. Every product listed here matches the stated topic and is stocked by this site in that category; a listing that does not match is dropped rather than substituted for something close enough. When nothing matches, the page stays a reference page and lists no products at all.

Named top pick for one stated reason: of the six products on this page, its listing publishes the most specification figures in writing. That is a transparency judgement about the listing, not a quality judgement about the product.

Commission rates play no part in the order or the selection, and no manufacturer or retailer has paid for a placement here. No listening test, measurement or first-hand assessment stands behind any ranking on this page.

Figures are reproduced from the retailer listing or the manufacturer specification sheet exactly as published. Where a listing does not state a figure, this page records that it is not stated in this listing rather than borrowing a number from another source. Product images are shown unmodified.

Sources are linked in full at the foot of this page so each claim can be checked rather than trusted. This page is regenerated whenever its source listings change, and the date at the top reflects that regeneration.

Selected options

Each link below opens that product's page on this site, which links out to the retailer. Those outbound links are affiliate links, as set out at the top of this page.

shopping_cart Available on Amazon

CROWN SHADES 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with One Push Setup, Gird White | Patented CenterLok, Easy Outdoor Sun S

CROWN SHADES 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with One Push Setup, Gird White | Patented CenterLok, Easy Outdoor Sun S

Listed at $139.99, down from $149.99 as stated, rated 4.6 / 5 on the listing, across 11,255 ratings, flagged a best seller by the retailer. Sold on Amazon; all figures manufacturer-stated.

See Details for the CROWN SHADES 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with One Push Setup, Gird White | Patented CenterLok, Easy Outdoor Sun S
Wakeman Pop Up Changing Tent, 3.3 x 3.3 x 6.2ft, Camping Shower Tent for Portable Toilet Stall or Dressing Roo

Wakeman Pop Up Changing Tent, 3.3 x 3.3 x 6.2ft, Camping Shower Tent for Portable Toilet Stall or Dressing Roo

Listed at $39.95, rated 4.3 / 5 on the listing, across 8,157 ratings, flagged a best seller by the retailer. Sold on Amazon; all figures manufacturer-stated.

See Details for the Wakeman Pop Up Changing Tent, 3.3 x 3.3 x 6.2ft, Camping Shower Tent for Portable Toilet Stall or Dressing Roo
Yaheetech 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with Vent, Easy Set Up Tent, Instant Sun Shelter Canopy with Wheeled Bag, 4

Yaheetech 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with Vent, Easy Set Up Tent, Instant Sun Shelter Canopy with Wheeled Bag, 4

Listed at $72.99, down from $85.99 as stated, rated 4.3 / 5 on the listing, across 1,781 ratings, flagged a best seller by the retailer. Sold on Amazon; all figures manufacturer-stated.

See Details for the Yaheetech 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with Vent, Easy Set Up Tent, Instant Sun Shelter Canopy with Wheeled Bag, 4

local_mall Available on AliExpress

Ultra light canvas garden canopy, sunshade, camping hammock, courtyard sunshade, used for outdoor activities

Ultra light canvas garden canopy, sunshade, camping hammock, courtyard sunshade, used for outdoor activities

Listed at $31.75, down from $63.50 as stated, rated 4.9 / 5 on the listing, across 3,394 ratings. Sold on AliExpress; all figures manufacturer-stated.

See Details for the Ultra light canvas garden canopy, sunshade, camping hammock, courtyard sunshade, used for outdoor activities
Emergency Lighting Solar Camping Light Portable Outdoor Tent Work SMD Rechargeable LED Hanging Lamp with Digit

Emergency Lighting Solar Camping Light Portable Outdoor Tent Work SMD Rechargeable LED Hanging Lamp with Digit

Listed at $10.62, down from $22.13 as stated, rated 4.9 / 5 on the listing, across 4,004 ratings. Sold on AliExpress; all figures manufacturer-stated.

See Details for the Emergency Lighting Solar Camping Light Portable Outdoor Tent Work SMD Rechargeable LED Hanging Lamp with Digit
20000mAh Outdoor Camping Fan 6 in 1 Portable Rechargeable Wireless Tent Ceiling Fan with LED Light Camping Air

20000mAh Outdoor Camping Fan 6 in 1 Portable Rechargeable Wireless Tent Ceiling Fan with LED Light Camping Air

Listed at $46.58, down from $98.05 as stated, rated 4.8 / 5 on the listing, across 5,204 ratings. Sold on AliExpress; all figures manufacturer-stated.

See Details for the 20000mAh Outdoor Camping Fan 6 in 1 Portable Rechargeable Wireless Tent Ceiling Fan with LED Light Camping Air

Frequently asked questions

Is a tent safe in a thunderstorm? expand_more

The National Weather Service's guidance is to move inside a substantial building or vehicle; a tent is not lightning shelter, and strikes occur in every season.

Are the capacity claims realistic? expand_more

They are the manufacturer's, reproduced exactly as published. Nothing on this page was pitched or slept in by anyone here.

Can I camp anywhere with this? expand_more

No. The Park Service sets out where camping is permitted, which is a rule about the place rather than a feature of the shelter.

Does a higher waterproof rating always mean drier? expand_more

This page does not rank ratings. It reproduces published figures and records where a listing gives a general claim instead of a number.

How was the top pick on this page chosen? expand_more

By counting how many specification figures each listing publishes in writing. CROWN SHADES 10x10 Pop Up Canopy Tent with One Push Setup, Gird White | Patented CenterLok, Easy Outdoor Sun S publishes the most of the six, so it is named top pick. Commission rates play no part in the order or the selection, and no placement on this page was paid for.

Related reading

Sources

  • link National Park Service — Sets out how camping in parks is planned and regulated, covering where camping is permitted, what to prepare before arriving, and the conditions visitors are expected to plan for.
  • link National Park Service — Sets out the ten essentials for any trip, including a navigation system of map, compass and GPS, water together with treatment supplies, and emergency shelter such as a tarp, bivy or space blanket.
  • link National Weather Service — States that although most lightning occurs in summer people can be struck at any time of year, and that the response to an approaching storm is to move inside rather than to wait it out.
  • link US Environmental Protection Agency — States that the UV Index follows WHO reporting guidelines, that broad-spectrum SPF 15 or higher plus covering clothing and a wide-brimmed hat are advised from index 3 upward, and that a short shadow means high UV.

You may also like